A Note from Doctor a.k.a. Ronaldo Junior (RJ)


I think everyone will agree with me when I say, this essay is awesome! Doctor wrote this biography all on his own and I was thrilled when he agreed to share his thoughts and dreams with you. Doctor does an excellent job of spotlighting what a great young man he is and the strong impact Rift Valley Children’s Village has had on his life. Enjoy!

A note from Doctor…

Part 1

My name is Doctor B. Tipay.  I am sixteen years old and was born on April 23, 1996.  I was raised in the Karatu District of Tanzania.  When I was 4 years old I was adopted by an American lady called India Howell.  After a few years she started an organization called The Rift Valley Children’s Fund (RVCF) and I am the first kid she adopted.

I came from a sad heart breaking family and a tribe that has no respect for women and little children.  This tribe is called the Maasai.  But know that I thank God for the life he has given me with people who love and care for me.  The only way I can repay those people is by doing the same for others who are going through a hard time like me.

Know that I am studying hard and hoping I get good grades that will allow me to pass Form 4 and then go to the United States for further studies.

Many people who come to our Village ask me why I want to go to the United States to study but I never dared to tell them the truth.  The truth is that I have studied in a school called Gyetighi Primary School for seven years.   During those years I was beaten by teachers along with other students.  I thank god that the beating of children has been stopped by my kind and thoughtful mother, Mama India.  Now I am in secondary school and it is even worse!

Let the world know that beating in Tanzania is a problem and can only be stopped by the children of today when they grow up.  That is just one of the reasons why I am happy to struggle and work hard so that I can go to the United States to study.

I also play soccer (a.k.a. football) and I am very good.  I play mid fielder and right wing.   I play for three soccer teams.  The first team is called the Eagle’s Nest team.  The second is the Crater Giants team and the third is my school team.  I am a big fan of a Real Madrid player named Cristiano Ronaldo.  My nick name when I am playing soccer is Ronaldo Junior.

Right now I am a Form 3 student at Makumera Secondary School.  I take eight subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Geography, History, civics, English, Kiswahili, and Math.  My favorite subjects are Biology, Geography, English, History and Chemistry.

When I grow up I hope to become a professional soccer player from the ages of 22 to 32.  But what I truly want to do is something to change and help the world.  I want to start an organization in Tanzania that helps kids who have problems with alcohol and drugs.  The reason I want to do this is because “you can’t be a servant of two worlds.”  I say this because you cannot take drugs or use alcohol and do well in your studies.   I have spoken to classmates (their names will never be mentioned!) with this problem and learned that sometimes it is caused by family problems, being lonely and not being able to control their emotions.  I think that my organization could help kids like this through counseling and offering hope.

I have many American friends like Jane Eliza, Linnie and Sophie.  I judge America by what I know of these and many others I have met at the Rift Valley Children’s Village.

I would like to give a big thank you to all the sponsors and organizations who have helped us.  They should know that God will pay them back more than what they have given.

“True love comes from the ability to love and be loved by others”

By: Doctor Howell a.k.a. Ronaldo Junior

I hope you enjoyed my biography!!

Part 2

The first time I started thinking about what I would like to do when I grow up was in 2009 when I was 13 years old.  And I thought that it’s not about doing what I want to do when I grow up.  It’s about what can I do to make a change in this world?  This does not mean that I have to become president or anyone big to do this.  I believe that any one can so something if you just believe.  By this I mean that you have to work hard and never give up no matter what happens on the way because struggle is the path to success.

For now I am thinking that I want to become a person who helps kids under the age of 18 who have problems with drugs and alcohol.  I believe that if I do this the next generation will have fewer problems and fewer kids using drugs and alcohol.  The reason I want to so this is because at the school I am attending and in Arusha town it is a big problem and as far as I have seen nothing is being done about it.  It makes me sad and guilty that my fellow students are having this problem and suffering and no one is doing anything.

On the 20th of February 2013 I had a talk with one kid who had this problem (name will not be mentioned) and asked him a few questions.  He answered me well.  I learned that these things don’t just happen without reason.  There are real reasons behind this problem.  Many kids start doing these dangerous activities when they have the following problems:

  1. Family misunderstanding: Maybe the mother and father are always fighting and have no time to sit down and discuss family issues.
  2. Poor education on alcohol and drugs:  I believe that education should be given to villages, towns and the country at least twice a year.
  3. Giving up: Many people do not have a sense of self worth.  For example someone might do poorly in school and start to think they have no use.  Let me say that failing in school does not mean that you have failed in life!

These are just a few of the reasons why kids (youth) start using drugs and alcohol.  How can we (me and you) make a change?  I think we should start with our own friends.  On my side, I would do the following to make change:

  1. Education should be given to all society that alcohol and drugs are dangerous for our health – especially for children!
  2. Build a list of facilities in each country that can help kids who are addicted.
  3. Don’t separate from those who have these problems because running away from them will only make it worse.  Instead try to talk to them and comfort them.

The reason I am not trying to help people who are over 18 is because they are all grown up and have already made up their minds about how they want to live.  However I am would still be willing to help them if it was within my power.

It is hard to get this type of education in a developing country like Tanzania.  In Tanzania people study so hard but in the end it is like the government wants them to fail so they can reduce the number of students in school.  In the end no matter how many take the exam only 30% – 40% pass and all the others fail.  The truth is that even I am afraid to continue studying in this country because what if the coin flips the bad side for me?  I am sorry that I am speaking this way about my country but it is the truth and it is the reason I want to do all in my power to make Tanzania a wonderful country.

Therefore I believe that if we the children of the world come together and share ideas on how to do this we can make a change.

My aim in saying all of this is not to become “Mr Popular” but to help the world in general!

“One hand, one thought, we can do this”

By: doctor Tipay a.k.a. Ronaldo Junior (RJ)

March 22, 2013

About rvcv

Creating a home for children Transforming communities Building futures in Tanzania The Tanzanian Children’s Fund (TCF) was created as a 501 (c) (3) non-profit registered in the U.S. This fund financially supports the Rift Valley Children’s Fund, a non-governmental organization structured under the laws of Tanzania. TCF supports the Rift Valley Children's Village, a home for orphans and vulnerable children. TCF also supports and strengthens the community through educational programs, free healthcare, and a microfinance program. By lifting lives and building futures, the Tanzanian Children’s Fund aims to help marginalized children in Tanzania. http://www.tanzanianchildrensfund.org/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Note from Doctor a.k.a. Ronaldo Junior (RJ)

  1. Rebecca Petillo says:

    I think your comments on alcohol and drug addiction are very insightful. There are those of us here in the States who struggled with this problem as well when we were young, your friends are not alone. Keep up the good work and know there is help available for the asking.

Leave a Reply

