A Tanzanian Thanksgiving!

Today is a day for giving thanks and on this day we would like to share a story with you. It’s the story of one of our house mamas – Mama Renea – and she’s full of thanks for the work she has been given with us! 

Mama Renea and Nuruanna

Mama Renea and Nuruana!

“My name is Renea Jacob, I am 53 years old and I was born into a family of eight children. I have three brothers and four sisters. After sometime I got married in to the family of Jacob Mahunbo. I thank God that Mr Jacob and I bore three children, two boys and one girl.

 We had a very bad life, which was characterized by poor living conditions, an absence of food, shortage of social services and the most bad thing; failure of sending my children to school to get further education. 

I used most of my time to struggle hard to find at least the little amount of money which can make us survive, buy only food and other things later. I used my time to work in the farm plantation picking coffee. 

But from 2006, I thank God because I got a job here at RVCV which helped me much to boost my life. I am now able to get certain social services, all the basic human needs and my son is in school! 

Nevertheless, I have many things to say but the thing that I can say now is that I see the big changes compared to my former life.” 

Thanks that’s all from,

Mama Renea

Thanks to TCF and our extended family of sponsors, donors and volunteers, we are able to employ over 30 women just like Mama Renea. We also employ men and women, who work in positions including teachers, guards, cooks, drivers and tradesmen. In total, RVCV provides work for over 100 men and women!

Just one of the many ways in which we continue ‘Lifting Lives and Building Futures’ in rural Tanzania!

Thanks,

The TCF team!

This story was dictated by Mama Renea and transcribed by Alexi Josephat, a Standard 5 student who lives under her care in Tarangire house!

About rvcv

Creating a home for children Transforming communities Building futures in Tanzania The Tanzanian Children’s Fund (TCF) was created as a 501 (c) (3) non-profit registered in the U.S. This fund financially supports the Rift Valley Children’s Fund, a non-governmental organization structured under the laws of Tanzania. TCF supports the Rift Valley Children's Village, a home for orphans and vulnerable children. TCF also supports and strengthens the community through educational programs, free healthcare, and a microfinance program. By lifting lives and building futures, the Tanzanian Children’s Fund aims to help marginalized children in Tanzania. http://www.tanzanianchildrensfund.org/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

